What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger? Em…

Time to make the announcement…

I’ve signed up to Ironman Edinburgh 70.3!!


No apparently I don’t like living anymore and want to be dead.

If it doesn’t scare you it’s not a big enough challenge right?

Well.  This scares me.  This petrifies me in fact.  It’s a 1.9km swim in the open water.  There’s ‘things’ in open water – and I’m not talking just a few fish (which does actually scare me and make me want to vomit).  There are big fish, fish, small fish, jelly fish (oh my god what if I see a jelly fish!!!) birds, really big mother fish that can probably eat me!! There’s litter, there’s poop (probably going to be some of my own at this rate), there’s all those other people and then there’s dead bodies.

All of the above just floating around trying to kill you.

Actually not so sure I’m going to do this now.

The cycling doesn’t worry me as much.  I just need to get on with it.  And the running I think will be fine.  Obviously won’t be my best ever half marathon but I’m quite confident I will be ok once I settle into my rhythm.

So if the swimming is that bad why am I doing this to myself? 

Well.  It’s Edinburgh.  It’s Ironman.  It’s NOT easy.  It falls in to that category of ‘it would be rude not to’.

I will put in the months of hard training. I will be out there when it’s cold, dark and freezing putting the hours in.  I will put my body through hell and push it as far as it can go.  I will rock up to that start line.  I will complete that swim, that cycle AND that run.

And you’re damn right I will cross that finish line. 

Time to man up and stop being a little bitch!

(Sorry for swearing mum – I was having a moment)

4 thoughts on “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger? Em…

  1. Nice intro about the swim, that’s reassured me a lot now. Not! Ha ha! I couldn’t remember how far the swim was, not that it makes much of a difference anyway, I’ll still be crap. As long as we don’t disturb the great Edinburgh Shark then we’ll be fine. You have heard about the shark haven’t you?

    Like

  2. Have a great race! It looks like a great venue! I imagine that the bike would be very hilly! Is the swim in a lake or the sea? Don’t worry about sharks…sea snakes eat them…and neither like the taste of wetsuits… šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

