A Week On

Back to proper running this week – and I feel so much better for it!  First couple of runs were a little weird in the sense they were slower and felt harder but all is ok. I joined a faster group with the running club and that really pushed me on Tuesday.  If I stay in that group I won’t be running Tuesday lunch times as well.  I also stuck a quick bike and rowing session in on Wednesday as I wanted to give my legs a rest from running.  I can’t remember the last time I was on the rower but I don’t remember it being so hard! Truth be told I will be back on it, I need to improve what I did.  

Speaking of which I now have a lunch time route that is the new goal to improve on.  Reversed my favourite route and it was a killer! I struggled with it.  So, naturally, half an hour after finishing, I wanted to go back out and do it again (but obviously I didn’t).  I plan on doing it once a week and hopefully I will see an improvement.

I have had an easy session though.  Last night the running club did a tribute run to Ben from the 401 challenge.  If you don’t know who he is you really should google him!  He was in Perth earlier this year but I couldn’t run with him as had my youngest but I did see him at the Edinburgh Marathon.  He has ran 401 marathons in 401 days to raise awareness of bullying and money to support 2 charities he is close to.  There were about 30 of us last night and we went all together at the same pace along some of the route he ran when here.  It was really nice having the opportunity to chat to people you wouldn’t normally and getting to know a few more Road Runners.  


And that just leaves me with my last activity – swimming.  Yup, I’m back in the pool.  Both the hubby and I are doing the New Years Tri in January so I need to up my game.  My goal is simple – faster than last year but ideally a very good improved time.  So it’s sets and drills 3 times a week.  Oh the joys. It’s not a great distance I have to do, I just have to suck it up and get on with it. 

(Doesn’t stop me having the odd moan about it though ha ha).

Leave a Reply

