The Kilgraston Shark

Last Sunday was the local triathlon.  The one I had been dragging my behind back to the pool for (with as much enthusiasm as Eeyore, obviously).  My swim time had gone backwards so my goal was very basic – get it down.  It’s a bit of a unique triathlon as you are in a team of 4 and all 4 of you must complete all 3 disciplines in a row one at a time.  The distances are extremely short but I’m still very much a beginner.

I was in a team with Steve – who took the Run Faster group I have previously went to – his wife Alison and John, who I also met through the group.  None of us are swimmers but we can all run and John is quite the cyclist.  We picked up our numbers and I was delighted to see we were team no 30.  That meant I wasn’t the slowest swimmer by 29 people, and there were less than 40 teams – result!

Wrong.

This race was going fastest first.

Ah well, we weren’t planning on winning it anyway.


The team order was me, John, Alison then Steve.  Being first in the team to go was not something I was looking forward to and right enough, as I queued up in my oh so sexy Tri suit at the side of the pool I turned a deathly shade of white.  Then green.  Not good.  To distract myself from the dreaded upchuck I asked the woman next to me if she had done this before. ‘No it’s my first ever’ she replied.  ‘But you look so calm!’.  ‘Oh I don’t really care, my team know they will just have to wait for me and wait they will!’ she laughed.  I was so glad not everyone was in it to win it and there were others just out for a good day!

My time came and I was counted down.  I pushed off and everything about slowing my strokes down went clean out my head and I was just praying for the end of the pool.  By my 3rd length I was caught behind the person in front and then very quickly there were 4 people in front and I almost had to put my foot down and stop in the pool.  I switched to breast stroke and went straight under the water.  Clearly swimming of any kind is not natural to me.  The distance wasn’t long enough to really get frustrated and eventually I got past anyway.  My watch said 4mins 36 and I was happy with that. I may not be a dolphin but I’m no hump back whale either.


Onto my bike and could I find the thing? Could I heck.  Back and forward past it when eventually I spotted my towel.  Really should have paid more attention when I racked it!  I ran down to the line and saw Alison at the side.  ‘I hate this’ I cried out.  Pretty sure she just laughed. Out on to the road and the wind was picking up.  The route was essentially the same as the Brig Bash run I did a couple of months ago but in reverse.  This however means nothing to me as was doing the other way.  Not the same way, the complete opposite way.  Everything looks different.  I have a very long history of going the wrong way when doing the route in reverse!

Round I went though and paid attention to the marshalls – I even managed to pass about 3 people! Very happy with that.  Back in to transition and it was running shoes on.  Finally, running I can do!

Or so I thought.

Up I stood and over the timing mat I went.  My legs felt like lead.  They were barely moving.  In fact the fastest they moved during that run was when I almost went head over heels down the small hill at the start!  How I kept upright I will never know.  I did manage to pass a couple of people but I was that slow they could have been their teams third or fourth runner! (They weren’t by the way, just to be clear ha ha).

Back from the run and in to the tag zone to meet John who was about to begin his race.  Finally I could relax.  My leg was nippy though and I noticed I had a small but deep cut on my leg.  Very strange and very nippy.  I could only presume I had been bitten by a shark in the pool – obviously.

I spent the remainder of the race shouting and cheering from the side.  John came in in good time and soon it was Alison’s turn.  She beat me on the run but I had expected that.  When Steve finished he had a cut on his leg.  I tell you there’s a shark in the Kilgraston pool!

Best quote of the day goes to Steve when John asked him how many lengths of front crawl he managed – ‘I can assure you no front crawl was harmed during my swim’.  I’m not so sure Alison was entirely joking when she said he needs arm bands!

All in it was a great day.  I know you’ll be shocked to hear we didn’t win after all but hey, can’t win them all (or any in my case ha ha but I didn’t throw up so that’s my win).

Unfortunately I can’t bring myself to post the best photo of the day on here.  Someone from the Road Runners took our team photo for us (they are everywhere! AND they won!) and he took a selfie as well.  I can’t decide if it was on purpose though ha ha.  I did however post it on the Road Runners page – just as a thank you – I’m sure he took it in gest.


I’m glad I did the team triathlon and I will definitely be up for doing it again next year.  Its a good, relaxed day – once it’s done!

6 thoughts on “The Kilgraston Shark

  1. I can relate to the post really well! I too do triathlons and I love the feeling of the run up and also once I have done it. The sense of achievement. I feel like we have some stuff in common so I am going to follow you!

    Like

  2. Great post and the shark bit is obvious now, what else could it have been? I love your comment about my swim! The last time I swam was in the New Year Tri in Edinburgh in 2015 and the time before that was in this event 2 years ago! Allison said in her recent blog that I do a fine doggy paddle but I think she’s exaggerating!

    Everything you’ve said there perfectly describes my performance the first year I did it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

