Hips don’t lie

Never a truer word spoken (or song sung ha ha).  I’ve had an ache in my hip since the Tay Ten.  It went away for a short period but it came back just before the marathon.  I was running ok and my last long run was fine.  At running club the Thursday before Edinburgh though it was niggling too much and I found myself skipping some of the drills.  It felt like I was almost dragging my left side.  

So after Edinburgh I knew I had to get it seen to.  I made an appointment at the physio and headed down, not really knowing what to expect.

Some typical questions ‘what exercise do you do’ , ‘what’s your occupation’ , past medical history etc etc.  I explained the ache and how long it had been there.  She explained that’s not my hip it’s my back (easy mistake if you ask me).  She asked what I was hoping she would be able to do.  I explained I didn’t really know what a physio does I had just been told I need to see one.  As you can tell, things were going well. 

I stood up and she looked at my hips and back and very quickly discovered I had a rotated pelvis.  ‘Oh I think I knew that, I had it when I was pregnant – could barely walk.  I presumed it had just gone though’.  She found this fascinating.  Unrelated to the problem but interesting to her.  She tells me I have one leg longer then the other.  Again I think I’ve been told this before but I had also thought pretty much everyone had this.  Turns out not to this extent.

On to the table and she gently pokes at my back.

I practically jump off the table.

This happened when I was pregnant.  I could have killed the physio then.  Had I not been too fat to move.

It turns out to be my Quadratus Lumborum muscle which is severely tight.  The next 10 mins are filled with my tears and screams as she tortures me claiming she’s relaxing this Harry Potter character in my body.  

She doesn’t by the way.  I walk out in severely more pain.

I’m told heat will help ease it and I’m met with amusement when I explain I have been using ice. ‘It’s not inflammatory’.  I don’t have the heart to tell her that – again – I don’t know what she means. 

A quick Google search when I get home and I educate myself on what’s wrong. It amazes me how it explains exactly how I had been feeling.  

Harry Potter deleted scenes

Amazing

It’s going to be a full week of lots of stretches so when I go back next week it’s not so painful! Hips don’t lie.  Not when it’s actually you’re back that hurts ha ha. 

Leave a Reply

