Mini Tri

After a stressful time I haven’t been able to do much so on Sunday when the other half said all he wanted to do was watch Formula One and I could go out if I wanted to you couldn’t see me for dust! 

First I went swimming – the pools open 10-5pm on a Sunday and I discovered before 12 is an excellent time to go.  I ended up with a lane to myself for the majority of the time and didn’t have to worry about lane wars!  Using the wall clock again I’m pretty sure I took about a minute off my time but it’s so easy to lose count.  I really need to get a watch for this. 

Back home and a quick check everything was alright before I pulled my bike out.  (No grumbling a from hubby at this point either!).  I re-attached the mud guards and borrowed his water bottle holder before setting off.  My plan was to do the same route he had been doing on his road bike so I had something to compare myself against – albeit I was on a mountain bike.  Off I went and pretty much straight away I could tell I had a lot more strength in my legs than I did when I used to cycle more.  2 miles in though my phone started playing up so I had to stop to sort the music out.  That’s a must for me or I won’t enjoy the ride, it’s what pushes me on and it’s my ‘me time’.  (Yes I do sing along as loudly as my short breaths let me ha ha).

I get to the part he told me was a straight road for about 10miles and keep pushing away.  It’s quite up and down but not too bad.  A couple of other cyclists come past me on the other side of the road and I smile and nod, weathers great and I’ve got my water.  I see a sign for the cycle path I’m meant to be following so turn back and follow that.  More hills.  And not just hills, I’m talking vertical inclines here! Well, it is a country road in Scotland after all.  Determined that I will not be walking at any point I push on up and coasting down each and every one of them. It’s tiring but it’s ok.

At about 9 miles in I suddenly discover a whole new set of gears I never knew I had! Who knew! I’m no longer coasting down the hills I am cycling down them giving me enough momentum to get up the next much more easily.  Result! I make a mental note to really do some more research on best gear changes when I eventually aquire a road bike. 

I see a sign for home (well Perth, it doesn’t actually say ‘home’) and safe in the knowledge I’ve done more than 10 miles decide to take that route.  My aim was 20 miles so according to that I was fine.

I was not fine.

I was suddenly on the A9.

For anyone who does not know this road it is the most dangerous road in Scotland – fact.  They recently reduced the speed limit for lorries on it in a bid to make it safer, not so sure that’s worked as its just causing more overtaking which is a big part of the problem.  I manage to cross over it and look for the cycle path I was sure was there down the banking but can’t see it.  There’s no way I’m cycling on that road so I have no choice but to about turn and go back the way I came – up and down, up and down. 

Exhausted I get back home but instead of sitting down I think – oh go on, go for a run.  I had watched Ironman Kona the night before and had really been intrigued by it.  Every little part of it to be honest from the starting waves in the sea to the transitions to the rules.  Didn’t go to sleep until after the first few finishers came in.  So yeah, I wanted to see if I could manage a run after that.  I was also reminding myself I didn’t know when I would be able to get back out so had to take every opportunity to basically go hard.  So a good drink of water and a gel and out the door I went.

Oh my word my legs felt weird! This didn’t feel right, they were so heavy! Any thought of more than 5k very quickly went out the window and I began to think about just 3k. Just enough to say I went running after my swim and cycle.  First kilometre down and my pace wasn’t actually as bad as I thought it was going to be, still didn’t feel as good as normal though.  Second kilometre down and I was beginning to feel better, same with the third and fourth.  How I managed 5km in 26 minutes I’m not sure but that was it done, mini triathlon accomplished, sort off.

I have to admit this was a wake up call.  At no point have I ever thought a triathlon would be easy but that days session truly showed me what it was going to be like – and that was with rests inbetween! I need to work on a strong, hard training plan to get me on track and, of course, food is still an issue.  During all of that I only had 1 gel and my water.  That cant continue. 
Next week, running and more swimming!

  

2 thoughts on “Mini Tri

Leave a Reply

