Another ‘Night Before’

This time it’s Total Warrior.  And this time the hubby is doing the event with me! (Along with a friend).  Managed to convince him to sign up eventually – nothing at all to do with the fact his brother is doing it too and I just went ahead and bought his ticket a few weeks ago, nothing at all.  Had actually hoped to convince my brother as well but to no avail.

We are not packed, it’s us, we don’t do ‘organised’.  We are ready in the sense of physical fitness though.  All the training I’ve been doing I am hoping will carry me through not only this event but the next 2 – the Scottish Half Marathon and then the Beast Race.  I’m maybe being a little naive but now I’ve got 10 events under my belt I’m feeling more confident, and it certainly helps knowing he will be by my side the whole way this time.  My friend who is joining us is the same girl who did the Moonwalk with me.  Nope, not done any training together, she has a busier social life than the Kardashians put together! She has also hurt her leg quite bad so we know she’s going to have to skip some obstacles but not to worry, I’m sure she will finish. 

I should probably write a little check list of what I need.  Running gear, old trainers, clean underwear (it’s an obstacle course and you get submerged, I hopefully won’t need it for any other reason!!) towel, warm jumper for the inevitable shivers afterwards, gloves, red bull, flap jacks etc. oh Tickets!! 

I know a few people going tomorrow, none of whom know anything about my panic and anxiety and that somehow makes me feel relaxed!  I’m sure come start time I will get the usual wave of shakes and sweats but that is getting easier to cope with also.  Will it ever go away completely? Probably not.  Will I let it overcome me? Never.  It’s part of me, I need to accept that and move on.

Ok so next blog will hopefully be tomorrow night, include a few photos, a few funny stories and a shot of me enjoying a beer with my finishers medal in hand! 

 

Leave a Reply

